Christmas Setlist, December 21st, 2008

131218shepherds-watch-their-flocks-under-the-light-from-a-distant-star-near-bethlehem-israel-posters1

 

Merry Christmas to all!

We had an incredible time in the Lord today with our Christmas program.  I’ve never been one for the “program” type of thing, but when you watch dancers, and listen to musicians that perform at their best for the King of Kings it’s worth all the practices and rehearsals that had run late.  

Today was a bit different than the way we usually run things.  Lots of people on our platform make for a crowded  and sometimes cramped space to work.  Both the early morning  and regular service praise teams shared the platform with a choir and dancers (All 3 of my girls danced).  Everything went smoothly.

Here is how it went down:

Greeting from Brother Barry Roberts

Lamb of God – Nicole C. Mullen

This was the first dance of the day.  Lizz sang it.  This one has lots of energy to it and it was a kickstart to our Christmas program.  Hip-Hop!  Probably shocked a lot of the congregation.

O Come All Ye Faithful

This is where the congregation really got to participate with the next few songs.  The following few carols were played by the early morning praise team and led by various people.

Medley:

O Little Town of Bethlehem-Hark the Herald Angels Sing- Angels We Have Heard on High

Silent Night

Narrative by Brother Barry Roberts

Second service team now plays the rest of the program

I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day – Casting Crowns

I absolutely love this song!  We kind of take more of  a Toto-esque approach to things as far as what we add to a song.  The arrangement we left as CC, but I get to put some melodic swells in with the electric guitar and fills too.  A very powerful song.

O Come O Come Emmanuel

Darren sang the first half of the first verse accapella but the band soon faded in to join him.

O Holy Night – David Phelps version

Darren slayed this one! This one hits hard at the end with the modulation from Bb to C.  Most arrangements just do a half step but we decided to do a whole one.

Christmas Offering- Baloche 

We tend to put our own flavor on everything and this one was no different.  I normally don’t do a lead at the beginning of this one but the dancers entered during the 1st 8 bars and it needed something to progress forward.

Joseph’s Lullaby – MercyMe

All I can say is, WOW!  Very powerful.  Danna left her keyboard and got behind the grand piano for this one. Vicki played the strings on her keyboard while our jr. high youth director portrayed Joseph, and his newborn, Judah, was baby Jesus. Great, great, great.

God With Us – I have no idea.  It isn’t the MercyMe version.

Trish Couch danced a beautiful solo to this wonderful song.

Message: Brother Barry Roberts

Altar:

This is Our God – Hillsong

Jesus Messiah – Tomlin

There was a alot to this program.  I’m sure everyone went home and took a long nap.  It is also my youngest’s 9th birthday.  So lots to celebrate this time of year.  I wish everyone a happy holiday time with their loved ones.  

Leave me a comment and I’ll return the favor.  This is part of Fred McKinnon’s Sunday Setlist Carnival.  Check it out here:

http://www.fredmckinnonl.com/myblog/2008/12/21/sunday-setlists-22

Copy and paste the link above or click Sunday Setlists under the Catagories section above.

Brad

5 Responses

  1. Hey Brad–great list!

    Have you seen a chart for Sweet Little Jesus Boy by CC? I see that you did I HEARD THE BELLS today? We’re doing three of their carols for Christmas eve.

  2. Brad. Hearty AMEN to “when you watch dancers, and listen to musicians that perform at their best for the King of Kings it’s worth all the practices and rehearsals that had run late.”

    I’m really keen to get some dancing going in my church, but I’m going to have to do “softly softly catchee monkey” about it, as they’re VERY traditional and old school, at least in the morning service. Would have loved to have seen your girls dance. GREAT opener. Just great. Might nick the idea for Christmas 2009.

    I’ve always liked carol medleys. Folks love them and they work brilliantly.

    A capella O Come Emmanuel. That must have been an eye closer moment.

    I’m not familiar with Joseph’s Lullaby or I heard the Bells but I’m going to have a listen…

    Am loving Jesus Messiah and don’t really think that I’m going to be able to keep it out of my New Year’s eve setlist.

  3. Wow! Sounds like a great day! I echo what Louise said I would have loved to have seen the dances! Our dance and creative arts team is practicing right now for a routine that will be done as the opening act for our church Forward Conference 09. Dance can be so moving.

  4. Great setlist! Love the whole lineup! I will definately be doing Jesus Messiah!

  5. Wonderful setlist.
    Thank you for sharing you creative elements also. We are blessed to have a small dance team and I love it when they dance.

Leave a Reply

