The Downbeat 3.22.09

Welcome to my little piece of real estate on the web. Well, so are my facebook, myspace and twitter pages, but this one…as far as I’m concerned is where the rubber hits the road.  And you’re here with me, when you could be watching March Madness.  Alright….I confess….I’m watching it too!  So during commercials and half times make sure to check out what other worship leaders did in their services today over at Fred’s site.  Here is the link:

http://www.fredmckinnon.com/myblog/2009/03/22/sunday-setlists-35/

 

We changed our format for worship after last week.  We have decided that announcements in the middle of worship is a silly idea and they need to happen after a walk- in song (we’ve never had a walk-in song before).

  •  10:30 am practice stops no matter what the case.
  • 10:40 am Walk-in song begins
  • 10:45 am Announcements
  • Whenever announcements are done the praise portion of the service begins with no interruptions.
  • Prayer, Offertory, and baptisms happen between Praise set and worship set.
  • Worship set begins
  • Message
  • Altar time
  • Closing

The only things on a time frame are at the beginning of the service.  We want God to have his time and if he wants to do something we have facilitated for that as best we can.

Enough rambling from me.  Here is what happened this morning at Evangelistic Temple in Palestine, TX:

Walk-In:  Hallelujah – Ben Cantalone

This is the one we played for the first time last week.  We added another dimension to it this week because Danna, my wife and other keyboard player, got back from Israel Saturday night and was ready to play today.

All Because of Jesus – Fee

Forever – Chris Tomlin

This is Our God – Chris Tomlin

You Are Good – Jeff Deyo

Here I Am to Worship – Tim Hughes

Message: Dr. Barry Roberts

Altar:

Eagles Wings – Hillsong

Breathe – Paul Baloche

Closing: Hallelujah

Thanks for stopping by.  Leave a comment.

Keep the Son in your eyes,

BRAD

Band:

Darren – Lead Vocals

Cavin – Bass/music director

Metro Gnome – (Miniature Father Time)

Jason Stringfield – Drums (Friend of Gnome!)

Danna Hafner – Keys/Bgvs

Vicki Stringfield – Keys

Brad Hafner – Electric/Acoustic guitars

8 Responses

  1. Hey Brad,

    Had to smile about your move for the announcements. Over the last while I have been slowly moving the announcements clearly to the beginning of the service. This week I moved them to before the invocation and opening prayer! I read an article that anything that isn’t focused directly on God, needs to be at the beginning or end of the service, or else it is a distraction!

    Be Blessed,
    …Randy

  2. I’m a big Brian Doerksen fan!

    Be Blessed,
    …Randy

  3. Well leave it to me to correct Brad…YES!!!Beleive it or not, the drummer of all peeps was paying attention. We actually did the Chris Tomlin live version of “This is Our God” instead of the David Crowder tune he mentioned….but all the same, I luv me guitar player vede much..he could not help he was in a daze in gaga land watching wifey, (whom just returned to country) play the keys across the stage from him….lol…drummer….out

    • I corrected the problem in the setlist. All thanks be to the “friend of gnome”. Yes your eyes didn’t deceive you. I was distracted by the beautiful lady that recently returned from out of the country. I couldn’t help myself! Next time I think I’ll ask the gnome! He’s a little less brutal as far as correction goes! Hehe. Vede…out!

  4. I’m loving the flow of your worship services and that practices stop “no matter what the case” haha.
    i can relate to that statement- haha. I don’t even need further clarification- i got you.
    Great songs. Some new ones that i’ll have to check out.

  5. Brad.. wow 8 songs? We also do the “walk in” song. Usually when we start the service we’re about 1/3 full and by the end of the first song everyone has finally made it in. I am wondering how to get rid of announcements all together but haven’t found a good way. Thanks for sharing your list

  6. I like the idea of a walk in song. We haven’t done it yet but I think it might help with all the people who walk in late for worship.

  7. Great set! those are some powerful songs…. Eagles Wings is still one of my favs. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

