The Downbeat 4.19.09

Greetings and hallucinations!  

Thanks for stopping by.  I am constantly trying to find a way to make the blog short and to the point so that you can get over to other worship pastor’s blogs to see what they did on Sunday.  If you guys have any ideas on how to make my blog the best bang for you view (this is free afterall) let me know.  Please don’t forget to comment.  I do my best in trying to return the favor if you have a blog or facebook page.  You can see those other worship pastor’s blogs by going here:  www.fredmckinnon.com 

 

Here is how the downbeat happened today at Evangelistic Temple, Palestine, TX:

Walk In: Agnus Dei – Michael W. Smith

Greeting: Dr. Barry Roberts  

Dr. Barry Roberts, Pastor of Evangelistic Temple, Palestine, TX

Dr. Barry Roberts, Pastor of Evangelistic Temple, Palestine, TX

 

 

O Praise Him – David Crowder

Our God Saves – Paul Baloche

This morning, Dayne Weber lead this one.  He knocked it out of the park.

My Saviour My God – Aaron Shust

I am always the one to start this one.  Not usually a problem, but my cat stuck her claw into my ring finger on my fretting hand yesterday and it’s super sore. It’s right where the string and my finger make contact.   Anyway, I made it through and my solo was on the opposite end of suck!  So a good day for me.

Prayer/Offertory

Majesty (Here I Am) – Delirious (We did the PK7 version)

For those of you wondering, PK7 was the band at Promise Keepers 2006 led by Curt Coffield.  I really like their version of this one.  You can go here and listen to it:

http://www.thejesusunderground.com/p-PRO56.html

Jesus Lover of My Soul – Hillsong

Our version of this one is more R&B.  

Sermon: Dr. Barry Roberts

Altar/Closing:

Amazed – Lincoln Brewster

We did have a small issue with a keyboard that decided not to power up.We reshuffled Danna’s Korg Karma for Vicki’s  Korg X-50 before the service started.  Other than that snafu, things flowed well and someone came forward for salvation.  Praise God!  That’s why we do what we do.

Keep the Son in your eyes,

BRAD

Band:

Darren Goodman – Lead Vocals

Dayne Weber – Lead Vocals (Our God Saves)

Danna Hafner – Keys/Bgvs

Cavin Dorsey – Bass/Music Director (or DJ, it depends on what he says in our Avioms)

Vicki Stringfield – Keys

Jason Stringfield – Drums (Metro Gnome’s buddy and pal!)

Johnie Adams – Acoustic

Terry Garner – Acoustic

Brad Hafner – Electric

Metro Gnome – Timekeeper (Everyone who has Avioms bestest friend!)

3 Responses

  1. Awesome songs- thanks for the link for PK7’s version of Majesty. I like it.

    Looks like you had an awesome sunday! 🙂

  2. Great set Brad! I like seeing how your team is growing, and I would have loved to have heard the solo you did with the cat-gnarled-fingers. Also thanks for posting the link to the song. ‘Twas very cool!

  3. Love “Majesty, here I am”! The cat injury sounds painful ouch!

Leave a Reply

