Metro Gnome Chronicles 10.11.09

Welcome to the blog, all you Facebooker’s and Tweeter’s!  Glad to have you along for my little Sunday afternoon worship recap.  Today was a little different as we have started  “dry runs” on recording the music portions of our worship services.  Hopefully soon I’ll be able to share snippets of those services with you.

Fred’s website has what other churches around the world did this Sunday as well.  Check that out here:  http://www.fredmckinnon.com/myblog/2009/10/11/sunday-setlists-64/

Now…the moment you’ve all been waiting for……the set list:

Walk In:

For Who You Are – Hillsong

Today was the day to play in the key of B, I guess.  It’s been a little while since we’ve played this one.  This one is much different from the original recording.  We tweeked it to our influences, which are Toto, Journey, Rush and a slew of other bands too.

Bless His Name – Jeremy Riddle

Great tune!  The church really likes this one and they were hungry for a touch from our King today.  It’s always exciting to have a service like this one was.

I Will Rise/Jesus Messiah Chorus only (Medley) – Chris Tomlin

The last time we medley’d these two together was Easter of this year.

Prayer/offertory

Sweetly Broken – Jeremy Riddle

This one is fun for us! Towards the end of the song we go into the “Whoa whoa” part of Journey’s “Faithfully”.  We’ve always said if someone could find a way to make Journey’s music worship, people would worship to it.  We were right!

While I’m Waiting – John Waller

I fell in love with this song the instant I heard it on “Fireproof” while I watched it with my wife.  It’s a rocking song with a great message.

Message: Dr. Barry Roberts

Altar:

I Can Only Imagine – MercyMe

I believe the last time we played this one was at a funeral 2 years ago.  It was funny because for Saturday service we were playing Amazed by Lincoln Brewster.  That one just morphed into this one.  So we added it to the set list this morning.

Dismissal:

Amazed – Lincoln Brewster

See ya next week,

BRAD

5 Responses

  1. You guys put together some powerful medleys and just a great overall setlist. Can’t wait to hear your album!!

  2. I would love to hear how you medley those 2…I can probably figure it out but I’m not our main “music” guy.

  3. Brad–hadn’t thought of I WILL RISE/ JESUS MESSIAH combo–will have to check that one out!

  4. This list looks great! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Fantastic – kinda stunning topic. I will write about it likewise!

Leave a comment